September 28, 2022

  • As results of the August 9 polls continue to trickle in, several politicians have been declared winners of various seats by the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC).

    In the Nyanza region, a predominantly Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) zone, has seen a number of politicians defy the ‘Orange Wave’ to clinch elective seats. looks at some of the Members of Parliament elected on other party tickets or as independents in Kisumu, Migori, and Siaya counties, beating their ODM counterparts.

    Migori County Women Rep-elect Fatuma Mohammed
    Migori County Women Rep-elect Fatuma Mohammed

    Fatuma Mohammed

    Fatuma Mohammed successfully clinched the Migori Woman Representative seat after two failed trials in 2013 and 2017.

    Mohammed garnered 154,538 votes against ODM’s Dennitah Ghati who got 117,597 votes. Initially, Fatuma was a member of the Orange Democratic Movement but decamped after losing in the party primaries.

    After losing in the nominations, she challenged the party’s decision claiming she was the most popular contestant. Her appeal, however, failed and she opted to run as an independent candidate.

    Shakeel Shabbir

    Shabbir also run as an independent candidate and defeated ODM’s Nicholas Oricho to retain his seat as Kisumu East MP.

    The Legislator has overcome ODMs domination in the region. He also won against an ODM candidate in the 2017 General Election.

    During the campaigns period, Shabbir was roughed out of an Azimio rally held at Jomo Kenyatta International Stadium in Kisumu.

    David Ochieng

    The Movement for Democracy and Growth (MDG) party leader, David Ochieng, successfully defended his Ugenya parliamentary seat after garnering 25,520 votes.

    His closest competitor of the Orange Democratic Movement, Daniel Odhiambo, got 22,928 votes.

    Ochieng formed the MDG party after falling out with Raila Odinga’s ODM in 2017. He had earlier expressed that Deputy President William Ruto helped him win in the 2019 by-election against ODM’s Chris Karan.

    Marwa Kemero Maisori Kitayama

    The member of the United Democratic Alliance (UDA) defended his Kuria East parliamentary seat after getting 15,362 votes.

    The lawmaker beat his closest rival, Mwita Wilson, an independent candidate who garnered 10,601 votes.

    Kuria East MP-elect Marwa Kemero Maisori Kitayama
    Kuria East MP-elect Marwa Kemero Maisori Kitayama
  • Source: kENYANS.CO.KE

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published.

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.