Nasa Dissolution Throws in Limbo Beneficiaries of Alliance’s House Posts

Photo of Registrar of Political Parties Ms Ann Njeri Nderitu speaking during a meeting.
  • The dissolution of Nation Super Alliance (Nasa) is likely to see some members of parliament lose their lofty positions, which they earned by virtue of belonging to the then monolithic Opposition alliance.

    The Nasa coalition parties included Orange Democratic Movement (ODM), Wiper Democratic Movement (Wiper), Forum for the Restoration of Democracy – Kenya (FORD-Kenya), Amani National Congress (ANC) and Chama Cha Uzalendo (CCU). 

    The Registrar of Political Parties, Ann Nderitu on Friday, August 27, confirmed the dissolution of the NASA coalition in a decision arrived at after the Wiper, ANC, Ford Kenya, and CCM wrote to her office, announcing their withdrawal from the coalition. 

    Photo of Registrar of Political Parties Ms Ann Njeri Nderitu speaking during a meeting.
    Daily Nation

    “This office shall, in line with Regulation 22 (2) of the Political Parties (Registration) Regulations, 2019, publish a notice of the dissolution in two newspapers,†Nderitu stated in a letter. 

    The withdrawal by Nasa affiliate parties from the coalition in order to ratify another deal under the One Kenya Alliance (OKA) has put on the line House leadership positions some members hold courtesy of the coalition. 

    The various positions in parliament are shared across board depending on party strength. 

    Save for those serving in the Parliamentary Service Commission (PSC); who must be voted out by MPs to replace them, the rest are likely to be removed.

    Wiper, led by Kalonzo Musyoka, is likely to be the biggest casualty from the withdrawal  from Nasa to join OKA. 

    Senate Minority Leader Mutula Kilonzo Jnr, National Assembly Deputy Minority Leader Robert Mbui and Public Accounts Committee (PAC) vice chair Jesicah Mbalu are among leaders whose positions may be at risk, following the Nasa dissolution. 

    Senate Agriculture committee vice chairperson Enoch Wambua and his Roads and Transport counterpart Sylvia Kasanga may also be affected. 

    Also among them is Hon. Mbalu, Jessica Nduku Kiko who chairs the Chairperson’s Panel committee in the parliament. National Assembly Deputy Minority Whip Eseli Simiyu (Ford Kenya) and Commissioner of the Parliamentary Service Commission (PSC) George Khaniri (ANC) are likely to face the axe. 

    Lawmakers seated in Parliament
    Lawmakers seated in Parliament.