December 4, 2022

  • President William Ruto’s list of cabinet nominees is a reflection of diverse backgrounds – from technocrats to seasoned politicians as well as a couple of neophytes. 

    Ruto – having campaigned on a “common man” mantra- unveiled a list featuring Kenyans with different academic qualifications with some catching the nation by surprise.

    From former Gatundu South MP and incoming Trade cabinet secretary, Moses Kuria, ex-Malindi lawmaker and Public Service CS nominee, Aisha Jumwa. 

    Chama Cha Kazi Party leader Moses Kuria at Thika Stadium, on Saturday, February 19, 2022.
    Chama Cha Kazi Party leader Moses Kuria at Thika Stadium, on Saturday, February 19, 2022.

    Moses Kuria – Ituru High School

    Trade, Investment and Industry CS nominee Moses Kuria acquired his secondary school education at Ituru High School in Gatundu South, Kiambu County. Kuria, however, transferred to complete his studies at Thika High School. 

    Kuria later joined the University of Nairobi (UoN) where he pursued a degree in Bachelor of Commerce. Prior to his entry into politics, Kuria worked in the banking industry as well as other sectors in the private sector.

    Salim Mvurya – Mpeketoni Secondary School 

    Mining and Blue Economy CS nominee, Salim Mvurya, studied at Mpeketoni Secondary School from 1987 to 1990. The school is situated in Lamu West Constituency in Lamu County. 

    Mvurya further enrolled at Egerton University where he graduated with a Bachelor’s degree in Agri-Business Management in 1996. The former Kwale Governor also holds a Masters’s Degree in Participation, Power and Social Change from the Institute of Development Studies in England.  

    Franklin Mithika Linturi – Igembe Boys High School

    Agriculture and Livestock Development CS nominee Franklin Mithika Linturi is an alumnus of Igembe Boys High School in Meru County. Linturi later proceeded to the Meru Technical Institute where he graduated as a Certified Public Accountant (CPA).

    He also holds a Bachelor of Laws Degree from the University of Nairobi, though its validity was challenged in 2018. 

    Florence Bore – Kipsigis Girls High School 

    Florence Bore, the nominated CS for the Ministry of Labour and Social Protection studied at Kipsigis High School in Kericho County in the period between 1984 and 1989.

    She sat her Kenya Certificate of Education (KCE) and Kenya Advance Certificate of Education in 1987 and 1989 respectively before joining the Kagumo Teachers Training College where she earned a Diploma in Education. 

    In 2009, Florence enrolled at Kenya University where she pursued a Bachelor of Education Degree.

    Ezekiel Machogu – Nduru High School

    Ezekiel Machogu, who was nominated to serve as Cabinet Secretary for Education, is a former student of Nduru High School in Kisii County.

    Machogu attained his “O” levels before proceeding to Agoro Sare High School in Homa Bay County for the “A” levels. 

    The former Nyaribari Masaba legislator capped his education at the University of Nairobi with a Bachelor of Arts Degree. 

    Other notable names in the list of nominees include Public Service and Gender nominee Aisha Jumwa who attended Nyali Senior School, Prof Kithure Kindiki who studied at Tharaka Boys High School and Ababu Namwamba who went through Kolanya Boys High School. 

    Soipan Tuya, the nominee to the docket of Environment and Forestry attended the prestigious Kenya High School, While Kipchumba Murkomen is an alumnus of St Patrick’s High School, Iten. 

    Ezekiel Machogu and President William Ruto at an event on September 5, 2022.
    Ezekiel Machogu and President William Ruto at an event on September 5, 2022.
    Ezekiel Machogu
  • Source: kENYANS.CO.KE

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published.

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.