Groove Awards 2018 Winners Announced [Full List]

Groove Awards 2018 Winners Announced [Full List]

The winners of the Groove Awards 2018 were unveiled on Sunday at Kasarani Stadium Indoor Arena.

Keeping with the theme, “Rebuild. Restore. Reclaim”, the awards returned with a refreshed look and feel an engaging calendar of events and exciting new processes.

The 2018 awards categories were refreshed to take into consideration industry research and insights, better reflect the changing landscape of the local Gospel industry as well as take cognisance of global music trends.


This year, statuettes were handed out across 22 categories in the areas of artistry, song-writing, dance, production, and media, with the marquee award handed out in the new “Artist of the Year” category.

The Biggest winners were Timeless Noel, Hype Ochi and Jabidi as their hit song Odi dance won them four awards, Collabo of the year, Song of the year, Skiza award and dance style of the year.


GuardianAngel was handed the Artist of The Year Award while Reuben Kigame won the Songwriter of the Year award.

Gloria also featured on the winners’ list walking away with the Western song of the year and praise and worship song award for Huniachi.

Willy Paul was awarded the Gospel Music video of the year for his song Jigi Jigi which he graciously handed to Weezdom.

Here is the full list of the winners:

Collabo of the Year – Odi Dance by Timeless Noel, Hype Ochi and Jabidi

Reggae/Ragga of the Year – Shoot Satan by Jabidii

Nyanza County Song of the Year – Come to Me by Fenny Kerubo

Rift Valley County Song of the Year – Arusi by Cyrus Koech

Praise and Worship Song of the Year – Huniachi by Reuben Kigame Ft Gloria Muliro

The Eastern Counties Song of the Year – Kiwango Kingi by Wilberforce Musyoka

Gospel Music Video of the Year – Willy Paul, Jigi Jigi

The Coastal Counties song of the year award – Watangoja Sana Anastacia Mukabwa

The Hypeman/MC of the Year – Timeless Noel

Outstanding contributor to the Industry award – Angela Chibalonza

Central Counties Song of the Year – Shiru Wa G.P, Irema

Western Counties Song of The Year – Ingabo by Gloria Muliro

The Breakthrough DJ of the year award – Dj Terots

Dance Style/ Song of the Year Award – Odi Dance by Timeless Noel, Jabidii and Hype Ochi

The Teens Song of the Year award goes to Chini ya Mwamba – Masterpiece

The Breakthrough Artist of the Year award – Jabidii

The Media Personality of the Year award – DJ MO

The SKIZA award of the year goes to Odi Dance – Timelessnoel, Jabidii and Hype Ochi

The Song of the Year – Odi Dance by Timelessnoel, Jabidii and Hype Ochi

The ARTIST of the Year award – Guardian Angel


Since 2004, Groove Awards with Safaricom has celebrated excellence in gospel music in Kenya and across Africa.

The awards, entering their 13th year in Kenya (and 6th in Rwanda), are this nation’s most prestigious and recognized Gospel music awards, enjoying regional resonance and relevance. 

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here